Recovery Assistance Now Available for Seven More California Counties, Register Today 


SACRAMENTO – Wildfire survivors in seven additional California counties are now eligible for federal resources and programs to help rebuild their communities and their lives.

On Friday, California secured a Major Disaster Declaration from President Donald J. Trump which opens up new lines of critical federal assistance for individuals impacted by fires that occurred in early September in the following counties: Fresno, Los Angeles, Madera, Mendocino, San Bernardino, San Diego, and Siskiyou.

This follows a previous Presidential Major Disaster Declaration secured by the state last month to bolster support for the Northern California wildfires that broke out in August.

“Securing these federal declarations will provide a crucial lifeline to Californians so that they can recover from these fires,” said California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services Director Mark Ghilarducci.

“Federal assistance can help individuals, families, businesses, and communities begin their recovery after this year’s unprecedented wildfire season,” said FEMA Regional Administrator Robert J. Fenton. “However long it takes, we’ll be here working with our state, tribal and local partners to repair, rebuild, and integrate mitigation measures to reduce or eliminate long-term risks in the affected communities.”

The fires and counties eligible under last week’s declaration are:

  • Valley Fire in San Diego County
  • El Dorado Fire in San Bernardino County
  • Creek Fire in Fresno and Madera counties
  • Oak Fire in Mendocino County
  • Bobcat Fire in Los Angeles County
  • Slater Fire in Siskiyou County

For individuals who lost their home or sustained other losses due to wildfires in the counties listed above, you may be able to apply for federal assistance. FEMA gives eligible survivors financial awards to help them pay for such needs as rent, home repair or replacement; medical, dental or funeral costs, and other serious disaster-related expenses.

You can register for this federal assistance in three ways:

  • Register online at
  • Register by downloading and using the FEMA app on your smartphone or tablet,
  • Register by calling the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 between 7 a.m. and 10:30 p.m. PDT. The helpline has specialists who speak many different languages.

The deadline to register is December 15.

To apply for assistance, be prepared with the following information:

  • Social Security Number
  • Insurance policy information
  • Address of the damaged primary dwelling
  • A description of disaster-caused damage and losses
  • Current mailing address
  • Current telephone number
  • Total household annual income
  • Routing and account number of your checking or savings account (for direct transfer to your bank account)

For additional resources and background, please visit and click on “Current Incidents.”



1 Comment

  1. Phillp

    When needed available


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *