Lassen and Tulare Counties Added to Federal Disaster Declaration


At the request of Governor Gavin Newsom, two additional counties — Lassen and Tulare counties — have been added to those in California approved for federal individual and household assistance. This applies to survivors of the Sheep Fire and W-5 Cold Springs Fire in Lassen County and Tulare County’s SQF Complex, which includes the Castle Fire and Shotgun Fire.

On August 22, 2020, President Donald J. Trump granted a Major Disaster Declaration for California due to multiple massive wildfires burning throughout Northern California amid an unrelenting heatwave. With the addition of Lassen and Tulare counties, a total of 12 California counties have now been designated for federally approved individual assistance related to the August wildfires. The counties of Butte, Lake, Monterey, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma and Yolo were approved previously. Lassen and Tulare counties also qualify for aid under FEMA’s Public Assistance Program.

FEMA’s individual assistance program provides grants to help eligible survivors with financial assistance that may include rent, home repair, home replacement and other disaster-related needs such as childcare, medical and dental expenses.

Apply for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency online at; by downloading the FEMA app to a smartphone or tablet; or by calling the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585) between 7 a.m. and 10:30 p.m. Pacific.  

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has established a Virtual Disaster Loan Outreach Center to help homeowners and renters. Customer service representatives are available to assist business owners and individuals to answer questions about SBA’s disaster loan program, explain the application process and help each person complete their electronic loan application.

Virtual Business Recovery Center and Virtual Disaster Loan Outreach Center


5 a.m. to 5 p.m. PDT



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *