DMV Gives 1-Year Extension to Senior Drivers with Expiring Licenses


Licenses for drivers 70 and older that expire March through December 2020 now valid until 2021

The California Department of Motor Vehicles is providing an automatic one-year extension to Californians age 70 and older with a noncommercial driver license with an expiration date between March 1 and December 31, 2020. This action delays the requirement for this population to visit a DMV office during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The DMV previously provided 120-day extensions to senior drivers with noncommercial licenses expiring in March through July. While the new extensions are automatic, drivers will not receive a new card or paper extension in the mail. As an option, drivers can request a free temporary paper extension online beginning July 15 through DMV’s Virtual Field Office to document the extension, though it is not needed to drive. Californians with a suspended license are not eligible.

California law requires drivers age 70 and older to visit a DMV field office to renew their license but gives the DMV authority to issue extensions. The DMV has alerted California law enforcement of the extensions. The TSA accepts driver licenses for a year after the expiration date.

Commercial licenses, including those for drivers 70 and older, expiring between March and September are extended through September 30, 2020, to align with federal guidelines.

The one-year extension for senior drivers is the latest action to help Californians avoid or delay a DMV office visit during the COVID-19 pandemic. The DMV has issued extensions for expiring driver licenses and permits, expanded eligibility to renew a driver license or identification card online or by mail, and created new digital options for transactions that previously required an in-person office visit. The DMV continues to streamline its processes to limit the time customers spend at an office. Customers are encouraged to fill out the online application and upload their documents before they come to the office. The DMV is also contemplating other ways to safely serve seniors.

Summary of California driver license extensions

   Expiration month  Status
 Age 70 & older (noncommercial)  March-December 2020
  • Extended one year from original expiration date
 Age 69 & younger   (noncommercial)  March-July 2020
  • Extended to July 31, 2020
  • Expanded eligibility to renew online or by mail
 Commercial (all ages)   March-September 2020
  • Extended to
    September 30, 2020
 Learner’s permits  March-August 2020
  • Extended six months or to a date 24 months from the date of application

DMV field office employees are assisting customers with appointments at the specific office or with limited transactions that require an in-person visit. Last month, offices began offering additional services, including vehicle inspections and behind-the-wheel drive tests. The DMV continues to recommend that customers use its online services, expanded virtual services and other service channels to complete transactions, including eligible driver license and vehicle registration renewals. Customers can use the Service Advisor on the DMV website to learn their options to complete DMV tasks.



  1. Harold Ray

    Thank you for the 70+ driver’s license extension. I had been advised at 1-800-777-0133 to attempt a walk-in for my Class C license expiring in August. I did so at the Pasadena field office, but the line formed at 5:30 am and was limited to 150 people who were then exposed to the congested line-up for several hours. This was too unsafe, so I abandoned the effort. This 1-yr. extension should enable me to schedule an appointment that will minimize my exposure.

  2. Young p kim

    My license expires at January 20, 2021.
    I am 78 years old.
    Can I be qualified the automatic one year extension ?

    • Elvira Iobbi

      My driving license expires at January 9, 2021
      I am 77 years old .
      Can I qualify for the automatic one extension ?
      And how and where can I apply ?

      • young p kim

        I am waiting your answer.

    • Sandra Holman

      drivers license expires Feb.2021. Will I be given an extension?

  3. Lorean Moore

    My driver’s license expires on Nov. 25, 20. I will be 70 years old this year.

    • young p kim

      My license expires January 20, 2021.
      Can this license be automatic one year extended ?

    • Alfreda Rice

      My license expires 4/3/21. What do I do
      I’m 76 at present

  4. Barbara lang

    My license expires February tenth 2021,at that time will get the one year detention because of the virus

    • young p kim

      My license expires at january 20, 2021
      Can I have one year automatic extention ?

      • Rich Bravo

        I will be 71 years old in May 21 when my class A license expires.
        Will my license be automatically be extended?

  5. Lawrence E Wasserman

    my license expires Jan 4 2021…what do I need to do to get an extension or appointment? I am 82

  6. Rich Bravo

    Class A license expires in May21 and I’ll be 71. Will license be automatically extended?

    • Mary cloud

      My drivers license expired in March 2020. DMV has extended. I had recent surgery. Can I take my online test now

  7. Felix Bustamante

    I need stension its exp may 31 2021

  8. Joseph C. D'Amico

    I am now driving on the automatic driver’s license extension period of 12/16/20 to 12/20/21. What can I expect from the Ca. DMV to renew my driver’s license by 12/16/21; will there be a further automatic extension to 12/16/22?

  9. Trong Le

    My DL expired on 03/16/2021 does it be extended for 1 year?


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *