New California Counties Added to the Presidential Major Disaster Declaration


As the state continues its efforts to support communities impacted by recent storms, the California Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) announces the addition of several counties to the Presidential Major Disaster Declaration.


On May 25, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) assistance was expanded on the number of California counties, 1 county for individual assistance and 12 counties for public assistance that are approved for federal aid. President Joseph R. Biden, Jr., originally approved the Presidential Major Disaster Declaration on April 3.


Butte County joins the list of counties that qualify for Individual Assistance, meant for people and households to repair or replace damaged property. Other counties that currently qualify for Individual Assistance include Kern, Madera, Mariposa, Mendocino, Mono, Monterey, San Benito, San Bernardino, Santa Cruz, Tulare and Tuolumne.


Public Assistance, which applies to emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities is now available to El Dorado, Humboldt, Lake, Marin, Mono, Napa, Nevada, Sacramento, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara and Shasta counties. Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Del Norte, Fresno, Glenn, Inyo, Kings, Kern, Los Angeles, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Modoc, Monterey, San Benito, Santa Cruz, San Francisco, Sierra, Tulare, Tuolumne, and Trinity counties were previously approved for Public Assistance.


This declaration helps Californians in impacted counties through eligibility for several programs and supports that can include housing assistance, food aid, counseling, and medical and legal services. It also includes public assistance to help state, tribal and local governments with ongoing emergency response and recovery costs, and hazard mitigation.


Additional counties may be added as further damage assessments are conducted, particularly in areas where record snowpack makes it difficult to accurately assess the full extent of damages.


The Major Disaster Declaration further bolsters the state’s ongoing response and recovery efforts to support communities across California, including the deployment of the California National Guard and other state personnel to perform lifesaving rescue missions; the mobilization of food, water, sandbags, cots, and other commodities to areas in need; and providing equipment and personnel to assist in the fortification of levees, clearing of debris and snow from roadways, medical support at shelters, and staffing support for local assistance centers.


Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated areas can begin applying for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362 or 1-800-462-7585 TTY.


For additional information regarding Federal Assistance, click the links below:

Federal Assistance Now Available in Affected Counties Following February and March Storms

What Individuals Can Expect After Registering for Federal Assistance

What Business Owners Can Expect After Registering for Federal Assistance

Be Alert to Fraud After a Disaster

Less Than 30 Days Left to Register for Federal Disaster Assistance