More California Counties Added to Presidential Major Disaster Declaration


As the state continues its efforts to support communities impacted by recent storms, the California Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) announces the addition of counties to the Presidential Major Disaster Declaration.


On May 2, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) assistance was expanded on the number of California counties, 3 counties for individual assistance and 9 counties for public assistance that are approved for federal aid. President Joseph R. Biden, Jr., originally approved the Presidential Major Disaster Declaration on April 3.


Madera, Mendocino and Mono Counties join the list of counties that qualify for Individual Assistance, meant for people and households to repair or replace damaged property. Other counties that currently qualify for Individual Assistance include Kern, Mariposa, Monterey, San Benito, San Bernardino, Santa Cruz, Tulare, and Tuolumne.


Public Assistance, which applies to emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities is now available to Amador, Butte, Del Norte, Glenn, Inyo, Madera, Modoc, Santa Cruz, and San Francisco counties. Alpine, Calaveras, Fresno, Kings, Kern, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Merced, Monterey, San Benito, Sierra, Tulare, Tuolumne, and Trinity counties were previously approved for Public Assistance.


The Presidential Major Disaster Declaration helps Californians in impacted counties through eligibility for several programs and supports that can include housing assistance, food aid, counseling, and medical and legal services. It also includes public assistance to help state, tribal and local governments with ongoing emergency response and recovery costs, and hazard mitigation.


Additional counties may be added as further damage assessments are conducted, particularly in areas where record snowpack makes it difficult to accurately assess the full extent of damages.


The Major Disaster Declaration further bolsters the state’s ongoing response and recovery efforts to support communities across California, including the deployment of the California National Guard and other state personnel to perform lifesaving rescue missions; the mobilization of food, water, sandbags, cots, and other commodities to areas in need; and providing equipment and personnel to assist in the fortification of levees, clearing of debris and snow from roadways, medical support at shelters, and staffing support for local assistance centers.


Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated areas can begin applying for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362 or 1-800-462-7585 TTY.

For more information on applying for Federal Assistance, go to

For more information regarding Disaster Recovery Centers, go to