Federal Assistance Now Available in Affected Counties Following February & March Storms


As California has weathered more than a dozen atmospheric rivers beginning in December, the California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) has led the response involving nearly every part of state government to the widespread storm impacts. As the work turns to recovery, thousands of Cal OES and other state agency employees continue to be actively engaged in local communities statewide.

On April 4, President Joseph R. Biden, Jr., approved the Presidential Major Disaster Declaration. FEMA assistance is now available to affected California communities following the storms in February and March, including the following:

  • Individual assistance: Assistance to individuals and households to repair or replace damaged property. Housing assistance available only for primary residence. Other Needs Assistance (ONA) may include transportation, childcare and medical and dental expenses. FEMA works with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to offer low-interest disaster loans to businesses (including private non-profit organizations), homeowners, and renters with physical damage.
    • Counties included: Kern, Mariposa, Monterey, San Benito, Santa Cruz, Tulare, and Tuolumne counties
    • County added as of April 14, 2023: San Bernandino
    • Counties added as of May 2, 2023: Madera, Mendocino and Mono
    • County added as of May 25, 2023: Butte 
    • County added as of June 9, 2023: San Luis Obispo
  • Public assistance: Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.
    • Counties included: Calaveras, Los Angeles, Monterey, and Tulare counties
    • Counties added as of April 14, 2023: Alpine, Fresno, Kings, Merced, Sierra, Kern, Mariposa, San Benito, Tuolumne and Trinity counties
    • Counties added as of May 2, 2023: Amador, Butte, Del Norte, Glenn, Inyo, Madera, Modoc, Santa Cruz and San Francisco
    • Counties added as of May 25, 2023: El Dorado, Humboldt, Lake, Marin, Mono, Napa, Nevada, Sacramento, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara and Shasta 
    • Counties added as of June 9, 2023: Plumas, Solano, Sonoma
  • Hazard mitigation: Assistance to state and local governments and certain private non-profit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards.
    • Counties included: All 58 counties


In particular, residents and business owners in Kern, Mariposa, Monterey, San Benito, Santa Cruz, Tulare, and Tuolumne counties who sustained losses in the designated areas can apply for disaster assistance:

The deadline to apply is extended to JULY 20, 2023

If you need help in person, disaster recovery centers (DRC) are open with a variety of state agencies to help individuals impacted by the storms. Click HERE to see a current list of open DRCs near you.

For more, go to news.caloes.ca.gov